Posted by: travelmenorca | December 21, 2009

Discovering Menorca on horseback


During a brief working weekend to Menorca last July I was asked by my colleague, Carole Toomey of Menorca Homecare, if I would like to go horse riding.

Bearing in mind the temperature was up around 30 degrees, riding a sweaty horse was not top of my agenda… but the promise of riding along a beach in the late afternoon seemed quite exciting.

I hadn’t been on a horse for about 25 years but, duly persuaded, myself, Carole and her daughter, Naomi, arrived at Santa Rita, the home of Menorca Cavall
We had booked the two-hour trek along the beautiful north coast with a very mixed group of total beginners and some more confident riders. The ride started at Binimel-la, and from there we meandered our way with the guide along some of the most stunningly beautiful bits of coastal scenery – up and down hills, across cliff paths and along the sandy coast at Cala Pregonda. The highlight was riding the horses two at a time into the sea, where we all stopped and posed for photos.

It was the most fantastic experience and one I can highly recommend for getting off the beaten track and seeing more of the beautiful, real Menorca, away from the resorts and crowds. The scenery is breathtaking, it’s peaceful and relaxed, the horses are delightful. I’m so pleased that I gave it a go.

Kay Carter


Responses

  1. So nice horses!


Leave a comment

Categories